Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)

The Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) is an additional grant available to undergraduate students with exceptional financial need and gives priority to students who receive Federal Pell Grant and whose Expected Family Contribution (EFC) is a zero. The FSEOG does not need to be repaid.

To determine if you are eligible, the U.S. Department of Education uses a standard formula to evaluate the information you report when you apply through the Free Application of Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The formula produces an Expected Family Contribution (EFC) number. Following Federal Regulations, Clayton State University awards students with the lowest EFC (zero EFC), who have demonstrated Pell Grant eligibility for the same award year.

To be considered for FSEOG, you must:

  • Fill out a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
  • Meet all Department of Education eligibility requirements including but not limited to:
    • Having financial need
    • Having a high school diploma or a General Education Development (GED) Certificate
    • Registering with the Selective Services, if required
    • Being a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen
    • Having a valid Social Security Number
  • Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment as a regular student working toward a degree or certificate in an eligible program
  • Meet the standards of the Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy