Skip to Content Skip to Footer

The Alice J. Smith Awards

Smith Award StatueThe Smith Awards were established in 1995 by Joseph Smith as a memorial to his wife Alice.  He wanted to honor her career in teaching and her love for learning, and wanted Clayton State University to be a part of her legacy.

The awards are presented annually to the most outstanding faculty and staff members, who are nominated by their peers.  The selection committees choose five finalists and, based on personal recommendations from other university employees, selects the most deserving finalist as the award recipient.


2020 Smith Award Winners


Jonathan Harris

Jonathan Harris


Terri Cleveland

Terri Cleveland

Chancellor Academic Recognition Day

Tiffany Barker and Dr. Hynes

Tiffany Barker

View the past smith award recipients