Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated - INACTIVE

Omicron Omega Chapter

Image of Kappa Alpha Psi, Omicron Omega Chapter, Clayton State University

Achievement Since 1911...

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. a college Fraternity, now comprised of functioning Undergraduate and Alumni Chapters on major campuses and in cities throughout the country is the crystallization of a dream. It is the beautiful realization of a vision shared commonly by the late Revered Founders Elder Watson Diggs; John Milton Lee; Byron K. Armstrong; Guy Levis Grant; Ezra D. Alexander; Henry T. Asher; Marcus P. Blakemore; Paul W. Caine; Edward G. Irvin and George W. Edmonds. It was the vision of these astute men that enabled them in the school year 1910 - 11, more specifically the night of January 5, 1911, on the campus of Indiana University at Bloomington, Indiana, to sow the seed of a fraternal tree whose fruit is available to, and now enjoyed by, college men everywhere, regardless of their color, religion or national origin. It is a fact of which KAPPA ALPHA PSI is justly proud that the Constitution has never contained any clause which either excluded or suggested the exclusion of a man from membership merely because of his color, creed, or national origin. The Constitution of KAPPA ALPHA PSI is predicated upon, and dedicated to, the principles of achievement through a truly democratic Fraternity. Chartered and incorporated originally under the laws of the State of Indiana as Kappa Alpha Nu on May 15, 1911, the name was changed to KAPPA ALPHA PSI on a resolution offered and adopted at the Grand Chapter in December 1914. This change became effective April 15, 1915, on a proclamation by the then Grand Polemarch, Elder Watson Diggs.

Thus, the name acquired a distinctive Greek letter symbol and KAPPA ALPHA PSI thereby became a Greek letter Fraternity in every sense of the designation. The Omicron Omega Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. was chartered on the campus of Clayton State University on August 12, 2005 and has inducted over 40 members into our Illustrious Fraternity since its arrival on campus. The "OQ" Chapter continues to strive for “Achievement in Every Field of Human Endeavor" as it works hand in hand with other organizations, Greek and non-Greek, to continue to keep our fundamental purpose in tact. Some notable Brothers of the Bond are: Kasim Reid (Mayor of Atlanta), Ryan Cameron (Atlanta & National Radio Personality), Joe Clair (BET Rap City), Tavis Smiley (BET & National Talk show Host), Johnny Cochran, Bill Russell (NBA Hall of Fame), Anfernee "Penny" Hardaway, Wilt Chamberlain (NBA Hall of Fame), Lem Barney (NFL Hall of Fame), Kenny Lofton, Arthur Ashe, Montel Jordan, Cedric the Entertainer, Uncle Tommy (Comedian Steve Harvey Show), John Singleton (Boys In the Hood), Marvin Sapp (Famous Gospel Singer), and Whitman Mayo (Grady on Sanford and Son). For more information, visit the International Headquarters website at For specific information about the Omicron Omega Chapter, please contact LaShanda Hardin Fraternity - Sorority Council Advisor at