Public Safety Announcements
Three new Clayton State University Police Officers
We want to congratulate Officer Bland, Officer Washington, and Officer Amy for joining our Patrol Division Team! Recruit Garcia is heading to the academy in the fall, with the hopes that she will be joining our force as a sworn officer by the end of the year!
June 23, 2017 Effective on July 1, 2017, the State of Georgia passed House Bill 280, commonly known as the “campus carry”.
In the most recent legislative session, Governor Deal signed legislation that permits any person who is 18 years of age or older, or who is currently enrolled in classes on the campus in question, to possess and carry an electroshock weapon while in any building or real property owned or leased by technical schools, colleges or universities, provided that the weapon may only be used in self defense or in defense of others (O.C.G.A. 16-11-127.1) Electroshock weapons are defined as any commercially available device that is powered by electrical charging units and designed exclusively to be capable of incapacitating a person by electrical charge, including, but not limited to, a stun gun or taser. This law was effective on July 1, 2016. There is no requirement of a weapons permit to carry these devices. No campus property is exempt, including student housing facilities. There is no training requirement or requirement that the devices have to be concealed when being carried. Contact Public Safety if you have any questions about this new legislation.
Use of Vehicle Immobilizes, AKA Boots, by the Department of Public Safety
On March 1, 2011, campus police officers will begin enforcing parking rules and regulations by implementing the policy below (which is included in the Parking Rules and Regulations on the Public Safety website). Notice is being provided at this time to the campus community, to give those who have unpaid parking tickets an opportunity to pay their tickets. If unsure if you have any unpaid parking tickets, the Department of Public Safety staff will be glad to research and advise. Just call 678/466-4050 or stop by the office in the Student Center.
Vehicles are subject to immobilization when they are illegally parked, or it is determined that either the registered driver or the vehicle has accumulated five(5) unpaid parking citations. An administrative fee of $50.00 will be assessed in addition to the payment of existing fines, prior to the removal of the immobilization “boot”. Removal of the “boot” may be arranged by contacting the Department of Public Safety at 678/466-4050. Removal of the “boot” without the authority of the Department of Public Safety may result in criminal prosecution. Vehicles immobilized may be removed from the campus at the owner’s expense 24 hours after immobilization.