Digital History

 
 
 
History Channel  www.history.com
Biography Channel  www.biography.com
HBO Documentary  www.hbo.com/documentaries
PBS Programs  www.pbs.org/programs
Digital History  www.digitalhistory.uh.edu
Digital Vault (US)       www.digitalvaults.org
This American Life  www.thisamericanlife.org
Best History Sites  www.besthistorysites.net
 
 
 

General History

 
 
 
Historesearch    www.historesearch.com
Britannica     www.britannica.com
JSTOR    www.jstor.org
Eyewitness to History      www.eyewitnesstohistory.com
Clayton State: History     www.clayton.libguides.com/cat.php?cid=43844
Georgia State: History     www.research.library.gsu.edu/historygeneral
Emory: Southern US History         www.guides.main.library.emory.edu/cat.php?cid=2351

History Spark Notes     www.sparknotes.com/history (For general information, not a resource for research.)

 
 
 

American History

 
 
 
National Archives         www.archives.gov
National Archives Southeast Division    www.archives.gov/southeast
Avalon Project US History Chronology  www.avalon.law.yale.edu
Our Documents (US)         www.ourdocuments.gov
Docs Teach (US)         www.docsteach.org
Landmark Cases (US)    www.landmarkcases.org
Smithsonian Institute  www.smithsonian.edu
US Holocaust Memorial    www.ushmm.org
Southern Spaces  www.southernspaces.org
Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History  www.gilderlehrman.org
Charters of Freedom (US)                   www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters

American Presidents  www.whitehouse.gov/about/presidents


Early American History

Archiving Early America       www.earlyamerica.com
Jamestown 1607  www.jamestown1607.org
Negro Spirituals     www.negrospirituals.com
Africans in America    www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia
Our Shared Heritage: African-American Studies   www.nps.gov/history/aahistory
The Glorious Cause for American Independence  www.theamericanrevolution.org
MSU American Revolution     www.revolution.h-net.msu.edu
Oklahoma State Digital Library: Westward Expansion www.digital.library.okstate.edu/encyclopedia/entries/westward.html
American Indians   www.indians.org/articles
Tribe of Eastern Cherokee   www.georgiatribeofeasterncherokee.com
19th Century Cultural History   www.kclibrary.lonestar.edu/19thcentury.html
Civil War    www.civilwar.com


Modern American History

20th Century Cultural History   www.kclibrary.lonestar.edu/decades.html
American History TV  www.c-span.org/History
World War I  www.firstworldwar.com
Prohibition History  www.prohibition.osu.edu
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers  www.gwu.edu/~erpapers
Civil Rights Sit-ins  www.sitins.com
Civil Rights Digital Library  www.crdl.usg.edu
 
 
 

History Education

 
 
 
Smithsonian Source    www.smithsoniansource.org
Teaching with Documents  www.edteck.com/dbq
History Teacher Net  www.historyteacher.net
Schoolhouse Rock  www.schoolhouserock.tv
Teach History Technology  www.thwt.org
Teach History with Places  www.nps.gov/history/nr/twhp
NY Times Learning Network  www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com
Object of History  www.objectofhistory.org
 
 
 

World History

 
 
 
British Museum  www.britishmuseum.org
Histories World  www.historyworld.net
History Orb  www.historyorb.com
The History Guide  www.historyguide.org
World History Matters  www.worldhistorymatters.org
Online Literature Network  www.online-literature.com
E-History Network  www.ehistory.osu.edu
Map as History    www.the-map-as-history.com
Religion Fact Book  www.religionfacts.com
International World History Project   www.history-world.org
Metropolitan Museum of Art: History   www.metmuseum.org/toah

Modern History Sourcebook           www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.asp


Ancient World History

Ancient Greece    www.ancient-greece.org
Greek Mythology    www.greekmythology.com
Greek Myth Index  www.mythindex.com
Roman Empire Net    www.roman-empire.net
Ancient World History    www.awhistory.com
Ancient History Encyclopedia    www.ancient.eu.com
History of the Ancient World   www.historyoftheancientworld.com
Ancient History Internet Sourcebook   www.fordham.edu/halsall/ancient/asbook.asp
Africa South of the Sahara  www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/africa/guide.html

 

Early Modern World History

History Learning Center  www.historylearningsite.co.uk (Good for other time periods too!)

Elizabethan England    www.elizabethan-era.org.uk
British History Online  www.british-history.ac.uk
French Revolution  www.chnm.gmu.edu/revolution

Modern World History

19th Century Victorian England Crime Culture   www.crimeculture.com
Victorian Web  www.victorianweb.org
Marxist History  www.marxists.org/history
World War I  www.firstworldwar.com
World War II  www.worldwar-2.net
Holocaust History  www.holocausthistory.net
Anne Frank Museum  www.annefrank.org
Atomic Archive  www.atomicarchive.com
 
 
 

Women's History

 
 
 
National Women’s History Project (US)         www.nwhp.org
American Women’s History Online           www.digital.mtsu.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/women
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000      www.womhist.alexanderstreet.com
Women’s Suffrage Movements                    www.42explore2.com/suffrage.htm
Distinguished Women Past and Present                www.distinguishedwomen.com
Women in World History                    www.womeninworldhistory.com
International Museum of Women         www.imow.org
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This website requires Internet Explorer 8 and higher.
Please update to the newest version.