Skip to Content Skip to Footer

School of Education

Elementary Classroom

Learn more about the new Bachelor of Science in Education with a Concentration in Elementary Education


Clayton State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). All education programs at Clayton State University have been approved by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC) and accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

Education Programs

Reflective Practice logo

The mission of the Teacher Education Unit is to prepare professional educators who engage in reflective practice and who are competent, caring, committed, collaborative, culturally responsive, and prepared to teach diverse learners in an ever-changing society.

Students may choose from a variety of education programs that prepare them to become certified teachers. The Department of Teacher Education offers a B. A. in Middle Level Education, a cohort program that prepares candidates to teach Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Sciences for grades 4-8.

Other bachelors programs include Secondary Education programs in Biology, English, History, and Mathematics offered through the discipline departments. Secondary programs prepare candidates to teach grades 6-12. The Music Education program prepares candidates for teaching grades K-12 and is offered through the Department of Visual and Performing Arts.

The Master of Arts in Teaching programs in Secondary Mathematics and English are offered through the School of Graduate Studies and the discipline departments.


How to Become a Teacher in Georgia

Contact Information

Department of Teacher Education
2000 Clayton State Boulevard
Morrow, GA 30260-0285
Office: Arts & Sciences Building, G-205
Phone: (678) 466-4825
Fax: (678) 466-4899