Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Virtual Relaxation Room

Resources

Articles on How Therapy Can Help:

http://www.helpguide.org/mental/psychotherapy_therapist_counseling.htm

http://psychcentral.com/lib/2011/9-myths-and-facts-about-therapy/

Articles on the Benefits of Mindfulness:

Stress Remedy- Beginner’s Mind:  http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/stress-remedy/200811/beginners-mind

Mindfulness Meditation Benefits Health: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/04/08/mindfulness-meditation-benefits-health_n_3016045.html

Mindfulness Benefits the Brain: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/01/110121144007.htm#.UY0D3dYNq_o.email

About ADD/ADHD:

Attention Deficit Disorder Association: http://www.add.org

Websites Specifically for College Students:

Half of Us: http://www.halfofus.com/about-half-of-us

Active Minds: http://www.activeminds.org

JED Foundation: http://www.jedfoundation.org

U Life Line: http://www.ulifeline.org

Transition Year: http://www.transitionyear.org

Tips for College Students: http://www.mhai.org/College_Students.pdf

The College Spill Blog: http://blogs.psychcentral.com/college

For Parents of College Students:

JED Foundation:

https://www.jedfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/jed-nami-guide-starting-conversation-college-mental-health.pdf

https://www.jedfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Parent-Conversation-Guide-JED-2018.pdf

Transition Year: http://www.transitionyear.org

GLBT Resources:

PFLAG Atlanta: http://www.pflagatl.org

PFLAG National: www.pflag.org

Georgia Equality: http://georgiaequality.org

Atlanta Pride: https://www.atlantapride.org/

Human Rights Campaign: http://www.hrc.org

Gay Straight Alliance Network: http://www.gsanetwork.org

Gay and Lesbian National Hotline: http://www.glnh.org

GLBT Scholarships: http://www.scc.net/~t-bonham/EDLINKS.HTM

CDC GLBT Health: http://www.cdc.gov/lgbthealth/youth.htm

Gender Identity

Gender: http://www.atlantagender.org/index.html

Trans-Academics: http://www.trans-academics.org

Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Resources:

Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network: http://www.rainn.org

Henry House Domestic Violence Shelter: http://henryhavenhouse.org

Southern Crescent Sexual Assault and Child Advocacy Center: http://scsacinc.wix.com/scsac#!

Women’s Resource Center to End Domestic Violence: http://www.wrcdv.org

Georgia Coalition Against Domestic Violence: http://gcadv.org

Mental Health Websites:

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance: http://www.dbsalliance.org

National Alliance on Mental Health: http://www.nami.org

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: http://www.samhsa.gov

Mental Health America: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net

Anxiety and Depression Association of America: http://www.adaa.org

Mind Your Mind: http://www.mindingyourmind.org

Substance/Alcohol Abuse Resources:

Recovery Road Map: http://reneweveryday.com/features/roadmap-to-recovery-2/

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: http://www.samhsa.gov

Narcotics Anonymous: http://www.na.org

Alcoholics Anonymous: http://www.aa.org

National Institute on Drug Abuse: http://www.drugabuse.gov

Eating Disorder Resources:

National Eating Disorders Association: http://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org

National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders: http://www.anad.org

Minority Mental Health Resources:

 A Family Guide to Mental Health for African-Americans:

http://www.nami.org/getattachment/Extranet/NAMI-State-Organization-and-NAMI-Affiliate-Leaders/Awareness/AKA/Mental-Health-Fact-Sheets/AKA-NAMI-African-American-MH-facts.pdf

http://www.nami.org/Find-Support/Diverse-Communities/African-American-Mental-Health

African-American Women and Depression Fact Sheet:

http://www.nami.org/Extranet/NAMI-State-Organization-and-NAMI-Affiliate-Leaders/Awareness/AKA/Mental-Health-Fact-Sheets

National Resource Center for Hispanic Mental Health:

http://www.nrchmh.org

Mental Health Brochures:

http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/index.shtml

Suicide Prevention Websites:

I’m Alive Online Crisis Network: https://www.imalive.org

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention: http://www.afsp.org

Georgia Mental Health/Substance Abuse Treatment Resources: https://dbhdd.georgia.gov/substance-abuse-prevention

Georgia Crisis and Access Line: https://www.georgiacollaborative.com/providers/georgia-crisis-and-access-line-gcal/