Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Student Awards

2019 O.C. Lam III Award Recipient - Pamela Nguyen


Pamela Nguyen - Awarded April 17, 2019

Pamela received her B.S. in Biology during the Spring 2019 semester.  Pamela served as the Learning Assistant and peer mentor in our Principles of Biology courses and served as the President of the Biology Club.  In her spare time she also shares her talents as a volunteer for several service organizations.  While juggling classes, peer mentorship activities, community service, learning assistant responsibilities, student activities, and a family and social life, she has shown a remarkable poise and focus and will graduate with high honors (summa cum laude).  Pamela plans to attend medical school next year.  


O.C. Lam III Award for Excellence in the Biological Sciences

The O.C. Lam III Award for Excellence in the Biological Sciences was established in November 1996 to honor senior biology students who have shown excellence in their academic endeavors and a high potential for success in biology. The Award winner is nominated and chosen by the biology faculty and presented at the Clayton State University College of Arts and Sciences Honors Convocation each Spring. The Award winner receives a cash award, an individual plaque, and his or her name permanently engraved on a perpetual plaque displayed in the Department of Biology office suite in the Lakeside Discovery and Science Center.

All recipients of this prestigious award are listed below:

Award Recipient Date Awarded
Pamela Nguyen April 17, 2019
MyKala McKinnes April 11, 2018
Deanna Jackson April 12, 2017
John Thomas Weldon April 20, 2016
J. Blake Anderson April 22, 2015
Tron Bullard April 30, 2014
Gloria Phuong Le April 17, 2013
Sotheavy Vann April 11, 2012
Otega Edukuye April 21, 2011
Matthew Shelnutt April 8, 2010
Chase B. Bishop April 9, 2009
Jewels E. Morgan April 3, 2008
Nikki T. Sawyer April 5, 2007
Leigh Beasley April 6, 2006
Branko Skovrlj April 7, 2005
Pamela K. Coltrain April 8, 2004
Janet R. Martinez April 3, 2003
Gina L. Smith March 28, 2002
Brian J. Kicklighter April 5, 2001
Steven W. Powell March 29, 2000
Angela Michelle Baker April 27, 1999
Vincent T. Zarzaca May 18, 1998
Richard E. May May 14, 1997