Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Biology Student Awards banner image

Biology Student Awards

Student awards recognize scholars who have achieved academic excellence and have demonstrated leadership in their chosen fields. 

O.C. Lam III Award for Excellence in the Biological Sciences

The O.C. Lam III Award for Excellence in the Biological Sciences was established in November 1996 to honor senior biology students who have shown excellence in their academic endeavors and a high potential for success in biology.

The award winner is nominated and chosen by the biology faculty and presented at the Clayton State University College of Arts and Sciences Honors Convocation each Spring. The Award winner receives a cash award, an individual plaque, and his or her name permanently engraved on a perpetual plaque displayed in the Department of Biology office suite in the Lakeside Discovery and Science Center.

Nominees for this award are selected from a pool of senior biology majors and are evaluated on the following criteria:

  • GPA
  • Superior achievement at upper division biology courses at Clayton State University
  • Superior research and scholarship
  • Participation in departmental and extracurricular activities 

All recipients of this prestigious award are listed below:

Recipients of Award Date Award Received
Nicholas Neeley April 13, 2022
Delia Stell April 14, 2021
Danielle Jolly April 15, 2020
Pamela Nguyen April 17, 2019
MyKala McKinnes April 11, 2018
Deanna Jackson April 12, 2017
John Thomas Weldon April 20, 2016
Blake Anderson April 22, 2015
Tron Bullard April 30, 2014
Gloria Phuong Le April 17, 2013
Sotheavy Vann April 11, 2012
Otega Edukuye April 21, 2011
Matthew Shelnutt April 8, 2010
Chase B. Bishop April 9, 2009
Jewels E. Morgan April 3, 2008
Nikki T. Sawyer  April 5, 2007
Leigh Beasley April 6, 2006
Branko Skovrlj April 7, 2005
Pamela K. Coltrain April 8, 2004
Janet R. Martinez April 3, 2003
Gina L. Smith March 28, 2002
Brian J. Kicklighter April 5, 2001
Steven W. Powell March 29, 2000
Angela Michelle Baker April 27, 1999
Vincent T. Zarzaca May 18, 1998
Richard E. May May 14, 1997