## Clayton State University – <u>Faculty Senate Minutes</u>

Monday April 28, 2014 (11:00 am-12:15 pm) University Center Board Room U260 Called to order: 11:02am

**Members Present:** S. Butterfield, R. Gooden, T. Janke, K. Kemp, J. Mascaritolo, C. Matos, B. Musolf (Chair), E. Nagel, K. Nguyen, C. Pitsikoulis, M. Rahman, C. Raridan, C. Walley-Jean (Vice-Chair)

Non-Members Present: President T. Hynes, D. Cody, M. Grant, L. Herndon, J. Qu, K. Pratt-Russell, L. Roberts

- > Approval of Minutes from the April 14, 2014 meeting. Minutes approved.
- ➤ Welcome to new members of the senate: Kathryn Pratt Russell (A&S), JunFeng Qu (CIMS), Micah Grant (COB), Khamis Bilbeisi (COB), Debra Cody (COH), Laura Herndon (Library)

### > Reports:

- ➤ President: Dr. Hynes provided thanks to FS for helping to modify language in documents to include community engagement commitment. Dr. Hynes also circulated documents, including the Allocation for State Appropriations) related to the latest budget conversations with The Planning and Budget Advisory Committee. Highpoints of his remarks included reporting no changes in 2014 budget but an increase in dollars for 2015. These increases, however, were in specific areas (TRS, Building & Maintenance, Health Insurance & Benefits, salary increases. The salary increase is sufficient for about .7% increase. Dr. Hynes stated that the institution will supplement this amount to get to a 1% increase. Dr. Hynes reported that no budget reduction is a reflection of our enrollment. Although summer enrollment will likely be down 10% from last summer, fall enrollment is projected to be about 1% over last fall. Dr. Hynes indicated that there will be opportunities to discuss the budget in more detail at the spring faculty meeting and if there are questions, please email President Hynes. Dr. Hynes announced that there will be celebrations late summer/early fall for Top Work Place status and successful SACS review.
- ➤ **Provost:** FS welcomed Dr. Kevin Demmitt, interim Provost. Dr. Demmit provided remarks indicating his excitement in working with FS. He also voiced that he is working with Drs. Crafton and Hynes to list projects that they would like to see move forward and accomplished during his interim time.

### > New Business

- Vote on UCC approval of curriculum changes and proposals: Faculty voted yes to changes to the handbook (146-Yes, 17-No). FS voted unanimously to approve the changes to the handbook.
- O Discussion and vote on Children on Campus policy: FS discussed a Children on Campus Policy developed in conjunction with the Office of Student Affairs. The origin of the need to develop a policy was the fact that there have been instances where children have been left unsupervised in the library and sitting outside of classes while parents are finishing class. FS agreed that the draft policy needs additional work (e.g., reduction in wordiness) before FS votes. R. Gooden will send comments to Barbara and the draft policy will be sent back to the committee for revisions.
- O Discussion and vote on Missed Instructional Time Policy: APC recommended that the responsibility for missed class time should be left up to the faculty in consultation with department heads and/or deans. FS voted unanimously to approve this recommendation. The policy will go in the faculty handbook and Barbara will send to FAC.

#### **➢** Old Business

• Vote on changes to electronic voting for Faculty Members: FS discussed changes to electronic voting for faculty members. There were two possibilities proposed: (1) for electronic vote, a majority of members of the Faculty need to vote in order to constitute a quorum. Therefore a majority (more than half) or a super-majority (more than three-fifths) will be counted from those who make up the quorum; or, (2) for the purpose of electronic vote, the invitation to

vote implies a quorum is present. From those who cast an electronic vote, a majority will consist of more than half who respond and a super-majority will consist of more than three-fifths of those who respond. Discussion ensued. S. Butterfield suggested that there be a specific policy about notification; K. Kemp suggested a standard phrase and sending it out every day that the ballot is available to anyone who has not voted. These additions were approved and the revised proposal was approved unanimously. The following change to the Faculty bylaws was what was voted on (highlighted):

## III. Meetings of the Faculty

- G. Electronic voting on issues placed before the Faculty is permitted at the discretion of the Chair.
  - 1. All electronic voting will be conducted in a secure manner, ensuring that each Faculty Member has one and only one vote.
  - 2. Before an electronic vote is called, Faculty members will be given at least five working days to discuss and debate the issue being voted on electronically.
  - 3. Faculty shall have a period of at least five working days to register their electronic vote. To encourage greater participation, those faculty members who have not voted shall be reminded each day to register their vote. For the purpose of any electronic vote, all members of the Faculty shall be considered "virtually present." Therefore a majority (more than half) or a super m-majority (more than three-fifths) will be counted as a proportion of the total membership of the Faculty.
  - 4. For the purpose of any electronic vote, the invitation to vote implies a quorum is present. From those who cast an electronic vote, a majority will consist of more than half who respond and a supermajority will consist of more than three-fifths of those who respond.

# > Updates from Subcommittees

- > APC
  - No updates
- > FAC
  - No updates
- > SAC
  - No updates
- > UCC
  - o No updates
- > GAC
  - No updates
- > SEI ad hoc committee
  - o No updates

#### **Election of Senate officers for 2014-2015 Senate**

- o Faculty Senate Chair –Barbara Musolf
- o Faculty Senate Vice-Chair –J. Celeste Walley-Jean
- o Faculty Senate Secretary –Catherine Matos
- o All nominees were elected unanimously.
- ➤ Transfer of Senate Business to D2L With the help of Jill Lane and James Fries, B. Musolf has set up a space for the Senate in D2L. More details will be forthcoming at the start of the 2014-2015 Academic year.
- ➤ Good-bye and Thanks to Senators rotating off Senate: Todd Janke (A&S), Muhammad Rahman (CIMS), Jim Keebler and Scott Butterfield (COB), Jennell Charles (COH), Katherine Ott Quinnell (Library)

## > Meetings:

- o Electronic voting on UCC curriculum proposals and changes in early May.
- o Next physical meeting will be in August 2014
- o Spring Faculty Meeting is May 6<sup>th</sup>, 2pm, UC272
  - Any agenda items send to Valerie Lancaster

#### > Subcommittees:

- o Academic Policy Committee: John Mascaritolo, Micah Grant
- o Faculty Affairs Committee: Kathryn Pratt Russell, Celeste Walley-Jean
- o Student Affairs Committee: Chris Pitsikoulis, Laura Herndon
- o UCC: Kay Kemp, Randall Gooden
- o GAC: Chris Raridan, JunFeng. Qu
- o SEI: Ken Nguyen, Celeste Walley-Jean
- o Technology: K. Bilbeisi

**▶ Adjourn:** 12:15pm