Newsroom Blog

President Hynes Earns Clayton County Chamber of Commerce’s Carl G. Rhodenizer Community Service Award

Feb 20 2015

President Hynes Earns Clayton County Chamber of Commerce Community Service AwardClayton State University President Dr. Thomas Hynes was the recipient of the Clayton County Chamber of Commerce’s Carl G. Rhodenizer Community Service Award at the recent Chamber Annual Banquet at the Sheraton Atlanta Airport Hotel.

The award is named after the first recipient of the Chamber’s community service award, Clayton State University Foundation board member Carl Rhodenizer.

Sponsored by Georgia Power Company, the Community Service Award is presented to an outstanding leader in Clayton County. The Board of Directors of the Chamber selects the recipient based on their commitment and dedication to the business community and the citizens of Clayton County. Presenting the award was Chamber President Lon Langston. The recipient of this award also shows great leadership in the community by representing the county regionally as well as locally, striving to improve the quality of life in Clayton County.

Hynes officially began his tenure as the interim president of Clayton State University on May 18, 2009.  On Feb. 9, 2010, the University System of Georgia (USG) announced that the USG Board of Regents had approved the permanent appointment of Hynes as president of Clayton State University.

In addition to his duties at Clayton State, Hynes’ community service has included serving as Chair of the Georgia Humanities Council, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the National Debate Tournament, Member of the Executive Committee of the National Communication Association, and Director of its Finance Board, and Member of the Executive Committee of the Carroll Tomorrow Initiative.  He also serves as immediate past Chair of the Clayton County Chamber of Commerce, member of the Fayette County and Metro Atlanta Chambers of Commerce - serving as co-chair of the Business and Higher Education Committee for that organization - Chair of the Atlanta Regional Business Coalition, Chair of the Coordinating Committee of the Clayton County Archway Partnership, and co-chair of Leadership Fayette.

He has also previously received the Chairman’s Award from the Clayton County Chamber, and the Servant Leadership Award from the Coalition of Clayton County Clergy.

Hynes joins a list of past Community Chamber Service recipients that, in addition to Rhodenizer, is practically a “Who’s Who” of Clayton County: Lata Chinnan, James E. “Jim” Crissey, Evelyn Wynn-Dixon, Cathy Ratti, Linda Summerlin, Mike Glanton, William J. “Bill” Lee, Eddie White, Virginia Gray, Ron Dodson, Claudia Mertl, Don Kiblinger, and Terrell Starr.

This website requires Internet Explorer 8 and higher.
Please update to the newest version.