Newsroom Blog

Jennifer Henley Presented with Clayton State Teacher Excellence Recognition Initiative Award

Jennifer Henley Presented with Clayton State Teacher Excellence Recognition Initiative Award

Sep 23 2014

In recognition of the important role that excellent teachers play in the lives of students, Clayton State University, along with its Department of Teacher Education, has established of the Teacher Excellence Recognition Initiative (TERI). This initiative is designed to annually recognize two high school teachers from Clayton County Public Schools who demonstrate excellence in teaching and exemplify the Clayton State learning experience; empowering, engaging, inclusive and supportive; in their own classrooms.

The winners of the 2014 Teacher Excellence Recognition Initiative awards are Anna Cox of Jonesboro High School and Jennifer Henley of Morrow High School. Henley was presented with her award today at a ceremony at Morrow High School.

Each yearly TERI recipient will receive a $1000 stipend plus $250 to be used for classroom materials. These awards are made possible through the generosity of the Jack and Sherry Hancock Clayton County High School Faculty Recognition Collaborative, in conjunction with the Clayton State University Annual Professorship Program. Jack Hancock is a Clayton State University Foundation board member, and an attorney with the law firm Freeman Mathis & Gary, LLP.

“The education of our youth is the key to the success of our nation,” says Hancock.

"Most teachers do not go into the profession because of the tangible rewards of money or fame. We love teaching and we love watching our students grow and achieve. A thank you note from a parent or an email from a former student has worked the magic of keeping many good teachers going for years,” says Dr. Ruth Caillouet, chair of the Clayton State Department of Teacher Education and professor of English Education. “But, we are very thankful to be able to be a part of this amazing opportunity. The Teacher Excellence Recognition Initiative will reward Clayton County Public School high school teachers for the truly excellent work they do in the classroom every day."

Henley, who teaches 10th, 11th and 12th grade Social Studies at Morrow High School, bases her teaching methods and philosophies around the ideas of Howard Gardner’s Multiple Intelligences, meaning that she believes that people learn in various ways. She was introduced to the idea of Multiple Intelligences while earning her Master of Education at Georgia State University in 1997 and, almost 20 years later, it is still the basis for her teaching, since she feels it results in more student engagement.

Henley’s teaching methods have served her well; her students have had some of the highest Advanced Placement scores in Clayton County, including her favorites, United States History and Government and Politics: United States.

The coordinator of the Governor’s Honors Program (GHP) at Morrow High School, wherein 14 Morrow students have attended GHP over the past nine years, Henley was also chosen earlier this year as the Daughters of the American Revolution U.S. History Teacher of the Year for Georgia.

TERI donor Jack Hancock has more than 30 years of experience in governmental and corporate liability. He is a successful and accomplished trial and appellate lawyer who received his B.B.A. and his J.D. from the University of Georgia. He has also served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Clayton County Chamber of Commerce, serving as legal counsel and chair, and served on the Board of Directors of the Regional Business Coalition.

Nominations for the TERI awards may come from the teachers themselves, a peer, a principal, or a Clayton State University faculty member. The award application includes a letter of nomination with a detailed description of outstanding, innovative, and engaging classroom or school-wide practices that positively influence student performance, submitted to the school principal where the teacher is employed. Each high school principal reviews the nominations from his/her school and submits no more than one nomination to the Clayton State University Office of the Provost. A Clayton State selection committee chosen by the Provost evaluates all nominations and then selects two teachers from the 10 nominations for the award.

This website requires Internet Explorer 8 and higher.
Please update to the newest version.