Newsroom Blog

Honor Society for First-Year Students Hosts its Annual Induction Ceremony at Clayton State University

Apr 24 2015

Clayton State University is one of 14 colleges and universities in the state of Georgia to hold a chapter of National Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society for first year students.

Chapter President Tatiana Bradley, along with officers Linda Ibarra Almodavor and Deanna Jackson with their chapter advisors Marcia Bouyea-Hamlet and DeLandra Hunter, honored and inducted 28 students on Tuesday, Apr. 14 in the ballroom of the Clayton State Student Activities Center.

Founded in the spring of 1924 at the University of Illinois by Dean Maria Leonard, Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first year students. Today, Alpha Lambda Delta has more than 270 chapters throughout the United States and more than 850,000 students have been initiated into membership since the first chapter was started 90 years ago. Membership in Alpha Lambda Delta is open to full-time freshman students who earn a scholastic average of 3.5 or better at a four-year college or university.

Alpha Lambda Delta emphasizes that educated persons have a responsibility to “have tolerance in your dealings with all persons, generosity in giving to those in need, and insight into the feelings of others,” says Dr. Glenda Earwood, executive director of the Society. Members are challenged to make a “meaningful contribution to society.”

For more information about Clayton State’s chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society for First Year Students, visit the chapter’s website at or contact Bouyea-Hamlet.

This website requires Internet Explorer 8 and higher.
Please update to the newest version.