Newsroom Blog

Faculty and Staff Notables: December 2016

Jan 18 2017

Academic Advising:

Sherwin James, Advisor and Assistant Director of the Center for Advising and Retention, earned the Advising Excellence Award from the Educational Advisory Board at the National Academic Advising Association conference last October.

Staff Council:

Heidi Benford, past Staff Council Chair, was honored for her 9 years of service from 2007 to 2016 by President Tim Hynes at the Staff Council Meeting in December. Benford is succeeded by Melanie Darby as the new Staff Council Chair. 

University Library:

Clayton State University Library staff took home several awards at the 2016 Joint Conference of the Georgia Council of Media Organizations and the Southeastern Library Association last October.

Dr. Gordon Baker, Heidi Benford and Barbara Dantzler were awarded the Georgia Library Association Team Award for serving as members—and Dr. Baker as co-chair—of the GLA Georgia Student Media Festival Committee.

Dr. Gordon Baker, Dean of Libraries earned the Hal Mendelsohn Award from the Southeastern Library Association for exhibiting continual, dedicated, outstanding service to the association.


This website requires Internet Explorer 8 and higher.
Please update to the newest version.