Newsroom Blog

Clayton State Names Dr. Caroline Sheppard as 2015 Smith Faculty Award Winner

Clayton State Names Dr. Caroline Sheppard as 2015 Smith Faculty Award Winner

May 14 2015

Clayton State University gathered on Apr. 30 in Spivey Hall to honor faculty and staff with the annual Service Awards ceremony. This year also celebrated the 20th annual announcement of the Alice J. Smith award winners. An annual event since 1995, the Smith Awards are presented to the faculty member and staff member ranked most outstanding as determined by committees of their peers. The two, $1000 awards were established by local philanthropist Joseph Smith in honor of his wife, Alice. The Service Awards Ceremony is a time for Clayton State to celebrate and honor faculty and staff through recognizing years of service, tenure, promotions, and retirement.

Professor of Chemistry Dr. Caroline Sheppard was recognized as the 2015 Alice Smith Faculty Award winner.

This year’s faculty nominees also included; Dr. Debra Cody (College of Health), Dr. Craig Hill (college of Business), Aaron Rafter (College if Information and Mathematical Sciences), and Dr. Karen Young, like Sheppard a faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Sheppard was born in Atlanta, grew up in Virginia, moved back to Atlanta for graduate school, and has been here ever since. She currently lives in Decatur with husband Andy Sheppard.

“It means so much to me to receive this award,” she says. “My colleagues at Clayton State are the most talented and devoted educators I have worked with, and is truly an honor to be recognized among them for my work and dedication to the students. I love teaching at Clayton State and having the opportunity to really make a difference in a student’s life. It feels amazing to be acknowledged and rewarded for doing something I love to do.”

Sheppard earned her Ph.D. in Chemistry in December 2001 from Georgia Institute of Technology. She also holds a B.S. in Chemistry, and B.A. in Music Performance from the College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, Va. In addition to her Smith Award, Sheppard was also named Teacher of the Year for the College of Arts and Sciences in 2009. She has also served as coordinator of the Chemistry division and associate department chair of the Natural Sciences Department.

Prior to coming to Clayton State in 2004, she was an assistant professor of Chemistry and a visiting assistant professor of Chemistry at Agnes Scott College, and a graduate teaching assistant at Georgia Tech.

This website requires Internet Explorer 8 and higher.
Please update to the newest version.