Newsroom Blog

Academic excellence recognized at Annual Service Awards

Academic excellence recognized at Annual Service Awards

May 15 2017

The commitment to academic excellence and serving others by faculty and staff at Clayton State University was recognized at the 2017 Annual Service Awards on May 2. The annual ceremony honors those on campus who have dedicated their time to providing an environment where students can achieve their dreams.

“It’s very important to give pause for celebration and congratulations to individuals who are being recognized and applauded because they have served and continue to serve this institution, our colleagues, and, more importantly, our students for an appreciable period of time. And in that service, have given of themselves,” said University President Dr. Tim Hynes. “The awards program gives us a chance to give appreciation to people who’ve really made a difference.”

Nearly 90 employees across campus received certificates or plaques for their years of service ranging from 5 to 30 years.

Eleven individuals were presented Retiree Awards. The University also announced the six University Professorship Award winners for making a meaningful impact in the lives of students and colleagues.

More than 20 faculty were promoted or awarded tenure. And alum Aaron Panlilio, who graduated with a degree from the College of Information and Mathematical Sciences, was presented with the 2017 Chancellor’s Academic Achievement Award, the highest awarded given by the University System of Georgia to a student. Panlilio thanked the professors who have supported him, and have touched the lives of countless other students in their classrooms.

“Imagine the lives you have touched. Imagine the lives that you have been able to a make a difference in—students,” Panlilio told the audience of faculty and staff. “Some of them may go on to do something amazing, make a discovery, write something, spearhead something.”

The faculty and staff winners of the Alice J. Smith Awards was also announced at the ceremony. Dr. Craig Hill, Professor of Supply Chain Management of the College of and the Charles S. Conklin Endowed Chair, and Billy Evans, system support specialist in the Office of Financial Aid, were this year’s winners.

The Annual Service Awards ceremony is sponsored by the Clayton State University Foundation.

View the photo gallery

This website requires Internet Explorer 8 and higher.
Please update to the newest version.